OnAir "ILLUMINATE"

ONAIR - a cappella innovation from Berlin

In the spring of 2013, when we met to practise singing Stefan’s adaptation of the folk song “Wenn ich ein Vöglein wär”, we couldn’t have anticipated where this would take us within a very short time.
In our first year, we went on to win two major competitions in Denmark and Austria, so that the call for our own concert programme quickly became loud.

In June 2014, the time had finally come: Our debut programme “Take Off” didn’t only take us to a number of stages throughout Germany but also to Finland, Taiwan and the USA. And while we were on the road with the programme, the wish grew to provide matching light aesthetics in addition to the existing sound design. Not much later “Take Off” radiated in an elaborate light installation.

Our first CD “Moon” appeared alongside the programme. To our great surprise it was awarded the prize as the best a cappella album in Europe. Our version of the song “Wolf & I” was even distinguished as the “Best Pop/Rock Song of the Year 2015” by the international a cappella organisation CASA.
Consequently, the expectations regarding our second programme were high. We were fascinated and inspired by the possibilities offered by light. As a result, with “Illuminate”, we found the right name very early on in the process. Here, it was not only the shine, radiance and gleam of the light that thrilled us but also the darkness, as the contrast to it. In search of the matching repertoire, the first songs were written by us and customised for the new programme. In addition, we also felt like doing German songs and didn’t shy away from Rammstein or Herbert Grönemeyer. We are looking forward to breathtaking critiques after the concerts and, every single evening, we realise that this effort was worthwhile.

We are currently working on our next Christmas programme, “A Winter Concert”, which will be celebrating its premiere in December, and naturally also already on the album that will go with it.
We are inspired and grateful for everything we have been allowed to experience in our brief band history and are looking forward to everything that might still come.
To this very day, the “Vöglein” is a fixed element of our repertoire and connects us to our early days.

Jennifer, Marta, André, Stefan, Patrick and Kris

André Bachmann
André Bachmann

André studied jazz & pop singing at the Berlin “Hanns Eisler” Academy of Music. He is an arranger, composer, and vocal coach. André was a long-time member of the a cappella band “musix” and is a vocal soloist in a number of different projects. At ONAIR, André is a tenor, arranger and composer.

Personal Website

Marta Helmin
Marta Helmin, Sopran

Marta has taken piano lessons since her childhood and won first prizes at “Jugend musiziert”. She completed her vocal and piano studies at the University of Music in Münster, Department Detmold. She has played lead roles in a number of musical productions such as “We Will Rock You!”, “Mamma Mia”, “Mozart!”. Apart from ONAIR, she also works as a piano teacher and a vocal coach. Marta is a soprano at ONAIR.

Patrick Oliver
Patrick Oliver, Bariton, Vocal Percussion/Beatbox

Patrick studied jazz & pop singing at the Berlin “Hanns Eisler” Academy of Music. He is an arranger, composer, and vocal coach. He was a part of the vocal ensemble group Bundes Jugend Jazz Orchesters (Bujazzo), vocal soloist in a number of projects such as the “Symphonic Pop Orchestra”, founding member of the a Cappella groups “musix” and (together with Lukas Teske, Maybebop) “Hartmuth und die Hitmaschine”. At ONAIR, Patrick is a baritone, vocal percussionist, arranger and composer.

Personal Website

Stefan Flügel
Stefan Flügel, Tenor

Stefan studied “Composition and Arranging” at the “Carl Maria von Weber” Academy for Music in Dresden, was a founding member of the a cappella band “musix” and is a part of the “Bird & Bloke” duo. Stefan works as a composer and arranger, offers workshops and sings, claps and dances with children in Berlin-Neukölln, as a church musician. At ONAIR, Stefan is a tenor, arranger and composer.

Personal Website

Jennifer Kothe
Jennifer Kothe, Sopran

Jennifer studied jazz & pop singing at the “Hanns Eisler” Academy of Music in Berlin. She is an arranger and vocal coach, worked as an actress and singer at Ronacher in Vienna and at the National Theatre in Mannheim, was a founding member of the renowned a cappella group “Peter and the Wolvettes”, sang with the award-winning Berlin-based “Jazzvocals” for a long time, and was a solo singer at “Trio Rosenrot”. At ONAIR Jennifer is a soprano, a composer and has recently become an arranger.

Personal Website

Kristofer Benn
Kristofer Benn, Bass

Kristofer studied jazz & pop singing at the “Hanns Eisler” Academy of Music in Berlin. Apart from his vocal activities, Kris is a vocal coach and choir leader. He was a member of the concert ensemble group Bundes Jugend Jazz Orchesters (Bujazzo), a jazz soloist with his own quartet, a member of “Berlin Voices”, the “Skylarks” (Andrej Hermlins “Swing Dance Orchestra”) of “Vocality” and the Berlin soloist choir. At ONAIR, Kris is the bass.

Personal Website

OnAir "Vocal Legends"

ONAIR - a cappella Innovation aus Berlin

Als wir uns im Frühjahr 2013 trafen, um Stefans Arrangement des Volkslieds “Wenn ich ein Vöglein wär” anzustimmen, konnten wir noch nicht ahnen, wohin es uns innerhalb kürzester Zeit wehen würde.

In unserem ersten Jahr gewannen wir gleich zwei große Wettbewerbe in Dänemark und Österreich, sodass schnell der Ruf nach einem eigenen Konzertprogramm laut wurde.
Im Juni 2014 war es dann soweit: Unser Debutprogramm “Take Off” brachte uns nicht nur auf etliche Bühnen in ganz Deutschland, sondern auch nach Finnland, Taiwan und in die USA. Und während wir mit dem Programm unterwegs waren, wuchs der Wunsch, neben das bestehende Sounddesign auch eine passende Lichtästhetik zu stellen. Nicht viel später erstrahlte „Take Off“ in einer aufwendigen Lichtinstallation.

Passend zum Programm erschien unsere erste CD “Moon”, die zu unserer Überraschung zum besten a cappella Album Europas gekürt wurde. Unsere Version des Songs “Wolf & I” erhielt sogar das Prädikat “Bester Pop/Rock Song des Jahres 2015”, verliehen von der internationalen a cappella Organisation CASA.

Die Erwartungen an unser nächstes Programm waren dementsprechend hoch. Wir waren von den Möglichkeiten, die das Licht bietet, fasziniert und inspiriert, sodass wir mit “Illuminate” sehr früh im Prozess den passenden Namen fanden. Dabei hat uns nicht nur das Leuchten, Strahlen, Blenden und Glimmen des Lichts begeistert, sondern auch die Dunkelheit im Kontrast dazu. Auf der Suche nach dem passenden Repertoire wurden die ersten Songs von uns selbst geschrieben und für das neue Programm maßgeschneidert. Außerdem bekamen wir Lust auf deutsche Lieder und schreckten dabei nicht vor Rammstein oder Herbert Grönemeyer zurück. Wir freuen uns über die atemberaubenden Kritiken nach den Konzerten und spüren an jedem Abend, dass sich der Aufwand gelohnt hat.

Im Jahr 2017 erschien unser erstes Weihnachtsalbum "Winter" und das dazugehörige Programm "A Winter Concert" feierte Debüt. Ab jetzt werden wir dieses Programm jedes Jahr zur Weihnachtszeit in einigen der schönsten Kirchen Deutschlands singen.

Dieses Jahr wurden wir in die russische Hauptstadt zum "Moskau A Cappella Festival" eingeladen und konnten dort zu unserer großen Freude den ersten Preis gewinnen. Unser neues Album "VOCAL LEGENDS" wurde dieses Jahr im September veröffentlicht und mit dem dazugehörigen Konzertprogramm bringen wir die größten Hits der internationalen Pop- und Rockgeschichte in unseren eigenen A Cappella Interpretationen auf die Bühnen.

Wir sind beseelt und dankbar für all das, was wir in unserer kurzen Bandgeschichte erfahren durften und freuen uns auf alles was noch kommen mag.

Das “Vöglein” ist auch heute noch fester Bestandteil unseres Programms und verbindet uns mit unseren Anfängen.

Jennifer, Marta, André, Patrick und Kris

André Bachmann

André studierte Jazz & Pop-Gesang an der Berliner „Hanns Eisler“ Hochschule für Musik. Er ist Arrangeur, Komponist, Gesangspädagoge. André war langjähriges Mitglied der A cappella-Band „musix“ und ist Gesangssolist in verschiedenen anderen Projekten. Bei ONAIR ist André Tenor und Arrangeur und Komponist.

Persönliche Website

Marta Helmin

Marta hatte seit der Kindheit Klavierunterricht und gewann erste Preise bei „Jugend musiziert“. Sie absolvierte Gesangs- und Klavierstudium an der Hochschule für Musik Münster, Abteilung Detmold. Sie spielte Hauptrollen in etlichen Musicalproduktionen wie „We Will Rock You!“, „Mamma Mia“, „Mozart!“ Neben ONAIR arbeitet sie als Klavierlehrerin und Gesangscoach. Marta ist bei ONAIR Sopran.

Patrick Oliver

Patrick studierte Jazz & Pop-Gesang an der Berliner „Hanns Eisler“ Hochschule für Musik. Er ist Arrangeur, Komponist, Vocalcoach. Er war Teil des Gesangsensembles Bundes Jugend Jazz Orchesters (Bujazzo), Gesangssolist in etlichen Projekten wie dem „Symphonic Pop Orchestra“, Gründungsmitglied der A Cappella- Gruppen „musix“ und (zusammen mit Lukas Teske, Maybebop) „Hartmuth und die Hitmaschine“. Patrick ist bei ONAIR Bariton, Vocal-Percussionist, Arrangeur und Komponist.

Persönliche Website

Jennifer Kothe

Jennifer studierte Jazz & Pop-Gesang an der Berliner „Hanns Eisler“ Hochschule für Musik. Sie ist Arrangeurin und Gesangspädagogin, arbeitete als Schauspielerin und Sängerin am Ronacher in Wien und am Nationaltheater Mannheim, war Gründungsmitglied der renommierten A cappella-Gruppe "Peter and the Wolvettes", sang lange Zeit mit den preisgekrönten, berliner "Jazzvocals" und war Gesangssolistin beim "Trio Rosenrot". Jennifer ist bei ONAIR Sopran, Komponistin und neuerdings auch Arrangeurin.

Persönliche Website

Kristofer Benn

Kristofer studierte Jazz & Pop-Gesang an der Berliner „Hanns Eisler“ Hochschule für Musik. Neben seiner sängerischen Tätigkeit ist Kris Gesangspädagoge und Chorleiter. Er war Teil des Konzertensembles des Bundes Jugend Jazz Orchesters (Bujazzo), Jazzsolist mit eigenem Quartett, Mitglied der „Berlin Voices“, der „Skylarks“ (Andrej Hermlins „Swing Dance Orchestra“) von “Vocality” und dem Berliner Solistenchor. Bei ONAIR ist Kris der Bass.

Persönliche Website